Dumbfounded One

Trying to understand it all.

Bands I wish I sucked as good as they do.

Ok, this is a new “subject posting”. As a semi musician, I admire many bands. Laugh as you might, but I like bands like Foo Fighters, The Who, Pink Floyd, Stan Getz, R.E.M., Tears For Fears, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam, Nirvana and even bands like Belle and Sabstien, Badly Drawn Boy, Modest Mouse and Peter, Bjork and John. Yet, there are bands that I think SUCK ASS. This new topic will point out such bands. There’s a twist though. Even though I think these bands suck, I think they are great as musicians. Hence the title “Bands I wish I sucked as good as they do”. First up…

RUSH

Canadian band that sucks. OK, except for “Spirit Of Radio” and “Tom Sawyer”. I’ll give them those two. Their songs irritate me beyond belief, yet I think as musicians, I think they rock. Even though I think Geddy Lee’s balls are being nibbled on by piranhas while singing, the dude has skillz. Also, he’s a great bassist. Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart also rock their instruments as if Bill and Ted were channeling them personally. So, why do I detest them as such? No idea. Maybe by the end of my/these specific postings, I’ll be able to explain.

Peace.

***Next up: The Rolling Stones

April 26, 2008 - Posted by | Bands I wish I sucked as good as they do | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Not trying to change your mind about RUSH, but have you ever heard The Necromancer, YYZ, or Bytor and the Snow Dog? These tunes might give you a different slant on the band.

    Comment by in8sworld | August 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Rush is a bit of an acquired taste. They don’t follow the traditional (predictable?) formula, and they have more or less done what they wanted. FWIW, the songs you mention that you like are probably the most “top 40ish” songs they have had.

    Comment by Chuck Wyatt | July 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. All of us have made judgements without educating ourselves first, not the best decision. Your lack of tact and couth shows no intellegence. Perhaps if your use of words weren’t limited to slang (suck), your search for attention would not be so offensively ignorant. It is nice to see how stupidity reveals itself. Even underdeveloped, mal-nourished, birth-defected lumps of human vegetables can have an opinion of music. There is no account for taste. You may or may not be a dumbfounded one – but you surely are dumb.

    Comment by satch | November 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

